Log in via your Identity Provider and manage your users and groups in one place with Directory Synchronisation. In this Help Center post, we explain to you how to configure single sign-on (SSO).  


No MoreApp account yet? Sign up here.
This feature is available in the Forest plans. Check our plans


MoreApp Platform

Sign in to the MoreApp Platform. Go to your Account name and click on Settings. Click on the Single sign-on tab.  


Step 1 - Get started

Click on the Start button. In this way, MoreApp enables SSO for your account. It may take a few seconds to turn green. After you can move on to step 2. 



Step 2 - Configure Single Sign-On (SSO)

Click on Configure to connect with your Identity Provider. Choose your Identity Provider, click on Get Started and follow the instructions.


When done, click on Test Single Sign-on


The following screen may appear, depending on your Identity Provider: 


If the configuration has been successful, you will see the following notification: “Your Single Sign-On test was successful. Your connection is ready for use”, as shown in the screenshot above. Click on Back to MoreApp to go back to the Platform. 


Note: It can take up to several minutes for your Identity Provider to show up successfully. 


Step 3 - Configure Directory Synchronisation 

Click on Configure to connect to your Directory Provider. Choose your Directory Provider and click on Get Started. 



Follow the instructions for your specific Directory Provider.  When done, click on Back to MoreApp

Note: It can take up to several minutes for your Directory Provider to show the list of users and groups. 


In the Single sign-on tab you will see how many users and groups are synchronized below step 3. 



Step 4 - SSO enabled

Whenever steps 1, 2 and 3 are successfully configured, step 4 will turn green and you can go to the Users tab.

Users tab 

In the Users tab, you will see the groups and users created via the Directory Synchronisation.
These can have 2 types of labels: 

  • External: This indicates the user or group comes from your Directory. These users will log in using your Identity Provider.

  • Suspended: This indicates that the user is suspended in your Directory. These users can’t access MoreApp.

After the groups and users are visible in the Users tab, give them the right permissions. 

Note: The Directory Synchronisation only creates, updates and deletes users and groups. 


Adding, updating and deleting users and groups

Groups and users created by the Directory Sync, can not be edited or deleted in the Platform. This means that you can only adjust the permissions of the users and groups.
In your Directory, you can add, update, suspend and delete users and groups. These changes will be synchronised automatically within the next few hours depending on your Directory Provider.




Note: You are still able to create ‘regular’ users and groups outside the Directory Sync. 

Login 

When everything is set, the user is able to log in to the Platform, webclient and app! After filling out the email address, MoreApp will detect if this user should log in with SSO. If so, the user is redirected to the log in screen of your Identity Provider. 




Delete SSO

If you want to delete your SSO connection go to step 2, and click on Reset Connection

Users and groups, will not be removed, but they won't be able to log in. If you want to remove all users and groups you can get in touch with MoreApp.


FAQ

Question

Answer

When synchronising groups with SSO, will existing groups with the same name in MoreApp remain the same?

Yes, the existing groups will stay the same.

May a user be in multiple accounts when enabling SSO? 

No, a user can only be in 1 account.

What happens in MoreApp when updating a group name in the Directory?

The permissions and users stay the same. Only the name changes and synchronises automatically.



Want to stay up to date with our latest tutorials? Go to YouTube and hit the Subscribe button!